Posted

print

favorite this post $764 SPACIOUS PRIVATE $764 Bedroom In A Beautiful OAKLAND Home, $764/mo (oakland hills / mills) hide this posting unhide

1234
Edwards Avenue

(google map)

house
laundry on site
no smoking
off-street parking
no private bath
private room

We have a spacious bedroom available in a beautiful home IN the Millsmont area near Mills College. We are a home of three women seeking a fourth housemate, and because we want to make sure this is a good fit for everyone, here's info about the house and us:

•Rent is $764 per month plus utilities, which average $100 per month but are a little higher in the winter (about $150-$200 during the winter);
•Security deposit of $850, so to move in, you'll need security deposit PLUS first month's rent;
•Internet is not included in the utilities and run about $15 per month per person;
•Bedroom is unfurnished, private closet, and plenty of the morning sunshine;
•A well kept shared bathroom with one person;
•The lease will be for one year, and we all share one lease;
•Washer/Dryer on property;
•House is not really public-transit friendly, so you should probably have a car. Off-street parking is available.
•Flexible move-in date during the month of April.

NON-NEGOTIABLES:

•No smoking of any kind (cigarettes, weed) and no drugs whatsoever. We get it: weed is legal in California and the other stuff is still illegal. Regardless, we are a drug-free household;
•No pets;
•The room can accommodate one person only.

Us:

We are three WOC in our 20s and 30s. One of us is a nurse and has lived here for four years, another is a grad student and has lived here for three years, and a barista who loves to dance has lived here for about six months. Historically, people who live in the house have lived here for a long time because the house is beautiful, the landlord is awesome, we are even more awesome, and the rent is super cheap. We have made this our home and although we each have busy lives, we try to catch up with each other when we see each other, and occasionally we'll have house dinners. We are not best friends but have still somehow become family, if that makes sense, and we look out for each other.

We make sure to keep common spaces (kitchen, living room, etc.) clean but don't trip if dishes are occasionally left in the sink overnight. We buy our own groceries but have a space where we keep communal snacks, mostly to help each of us avoid eating an entire bag of potato chips or package of cookies, ha ha. We are not a vegan household, tho one of us is vegan.

You:

We want to make sure the fourth person is someone who will make a good fit and for whom we will be a good fit. If this sounds like you, then please reply to this post and tell us about yourself (don't leave out what your current landlord would say) . What are your hopes and dreams? Ha ha, kidding, but please give us a sense of who you are in your message. You can include your occupation, your day-to-day routines, your hobbies, why you're looking for housing, etc. Please include links to social media if possible so we can check you out. We will not be interviewing anyone who does not send us a link! Lastly, we won't be able to interview everyone, but we will make sure everyone gets a response because we know how soul-sucking it can be to look for housing.

We look forward to hearing from you!
  • do NOT contact me with unsolicited services or offers

post id: 6850495112

posted:

updated:

best of [?]